Lao Hamutuk

Bulletin  |  Surat Popular  |  Topic index  |  Reports & Announcements  |  Updates
Reference  |   Presentations  |  Mission Statement  |  LH Blog  |  Search  |  Home

Information about the Treaty between Australia and Timor-Leste on
Certain Maritime Arrangements in the Timor Sea (CMATS)

Updated June 2007

For more recent developments and up-to-date materials, click here.


This treaty was signed by Foreign Ministers Alexander Downer and Jose Ramos-Horta in Sydney on 12 January 2006, with Prime Ministers John Howard and Mari Alkatiri looking on (photo).

Timor-Leste ratified it on 20 February 2007.

On 7 February 2007, the Australian government tabled the treaty in its Parliament, and the Joint Standing Committee on Treaties began an inquiry.

On 22 February 2007, Australian Foreign Minister Alexander Downer sent a letter to the Parliamentary Joint Standing Committee on Treaties invoking the "national interest exemption" to enable the treaty to enter into force without a Parliamentary waiting period. The next day, he announced that it had entered into force.

The Parliamentary Committee continued its inquiry, and accepted submissions until 16 March (see below). Although CMATS had already entered into force, the committee published a report in June.

CMATS treaty texts and attachments

Commentary and Analysis (chronological order)

Australian Government and Parliamentary materials (chronological order)

Referenced historical documents

The Timor-Leste Institute for Development Monitoring and Analysis (Lao Hamutuk)
Institutu Timor-Leste ba Analiza no Monitor ba Dezenvolvimentu
Rua D. Alberto Ricardo, Bebora, Dili, Timor-Leste
P.O. Box 340, Dili, Timor-Leste
Tel: +670-3321040 or +670-77234330
email:    Web:    Blog: